Annual Council Meeting & Awards Presentations 2016

19 September 2016

The ASA East Region held its Annual Council Meeting on Saturday, September 17, including the annual awards presentation.

The Annual Council meeting gave the membership an opportunity to consider the Annual Report and Accounts and saw elections to various East Region posts, the inauguration of the new President and gave an opportunity for the outgoing President to report on her engagements over the previous year.

Ian Knight became East Region President for 2016/17. Ian was unable to attend the ACM and will be presented with the chain of office by outgoing President, Kay McGuire, at a later date.

Reporting on her year of office, Kay McGuire thanked all those who volunteer to support aquatics in the East Region and paid homage to the talented athletes across all aquatic disciplines, who strive for success.

There were three vacancies for Elected Members of the Management Board, two were for the full three year term of office and one was for a one year term of office. Both Ian Mackenzie and Gerry Metcalf both stood for re-election. They were duly elected and will hold office until September 2019.

The Chairman reported that a casual vacancy had arisen as a result of Dave Harman's resignation from the Board.


The ACM was delighted to welcome the winners of the 2016 Regional Awards and their guests.

The following Recognition Award winners were presented with their awards by the East Region President, Kay McGuire.


  • Outstanding Club Contribution: Pam Spratt , Bishops Stortford SC
  • Outstanding Contribution at a Regional Level: Sheila Mackenzie , Hoddesdon SC
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Dave Robinson , Mildenhall & District SC
  • Excellence in Coaching : Geoff Wood , Berkhamsted SC


The ASA East Region Silver Pin is awarded to volunteers that have made a contribution that has significantly helped to develop swimming within the ASA East Region. Silver Pins were awarded to:

  • Carol Barrios, Bottisham SC
  • Chris Bellwood, Newmarket & District SC
  • Ian Douglas , Modernian SC
  • David Horne, City of Cambridge SC


The Jeff Cook Salver is awarded to a person, team or club that has made a significant contribution to the sport within the Region. The Jeff Cook Salver was awarded to:

  • Tony Smith, UEA City of Norwich SC

 A huge congratulations to all the winners and a big thank you to all those that nominated.

 For photos of the the Award winners  please click here

Back to top